Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Cars & TransportationAircraft · 9 years ago

What happens if a pilot is flying VFR and then conditions get bad while in mid-air?

What happens if a pilot is flying VFR and then conditions get bad while in mid-air?

Do controllers still allow them to land, even if they do not have an IFR rating?

12 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Well technically this shouldn't happen, and if it did its more than likely the pilots fault because VFR is supposed to be visual. So the pilot should plan their trips according to weather. If for instance the pilot was flying VFR above the clouds and ran out of gas and there was an airport nearby then the pilot would contact ATC, explain the situation, and ask them for clearance through the clouds. If it was bad all the way to the ground then the pilot better hope they have some IFR knowledge so they can find the runway.

Source(s): I'm a Private pilot and ATC
  • 9 years ago

If you are flying VFR and you find yourself in instrument meteorological conditions, you must immediately attempt to return to visual conditions, usually by making a U-turn and trying to flight out of IMC by the same route you went in.

If you encounter IMC without an instrument rating or in an aircraft that is not equipped for IFR flight, you should declare an emergency. You don't need permission from ATC to land after you've declared an emergency, but unless you find VFR conditions before landing, there's a good chance that you won't survive. Of course, you should coordinate your plans with ATC if you have time.