Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Games & RecreationHobbies & Crafts · 8 years ago

Need help understanding knitting pattern ?

I'm knitting a baby booties, and stuck trying reading the pattern. I'm still a beginner. It says "work 24 rows in garter st on center 10 sts" I'm really confused and not sure what that mean

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

If you are a beginner maybe you need to get a simpler pattern. one that does not require you to pick up stitches. This one is asking you to knit the sole of the bootie first. You knit the center 10 stitches--eg--if you had 30 stitches to start with you would knit 20 and turn the piece over and knit 10 back turn and knit 10 and continue to do that for 24 rows. Then you would pick up stitches along the knit edge to make the side of the bootie and the same on the other side.

Now there are some booties that aren't that complicated and have a seam on the bottom. Look through the Bernat patterns on line

• Login to reply the answers
  • 8 years ago

When you knit every row the pattern achieved is called garter stitch.

So work 24 rows garter stitch means knit 24 rows.

On center 10 sts is self explanatory. Just knit the 10 sts in the middle. Do not the sts either side of the middle 10.

From experience I guess that when you have done that the pattern will tell you to pick up the sts along the edge of the 24 rows you have just knitted. If you do not know how to pick up sts google in "picking up stitches" and sites pop up with instructions. You tube videos are very good.

Some people have said that beginners should start with something easier than bootees. I feel that if you only ever do easy things you never learn anything new. In any case bootees are not difficult. It's just that the instructions, while easy to do, can be hard to explain in words, without a picture.

• 8 years ago