Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Family & RelationshipsMarriage & Divorce · 8 years ago

First boyfriend, together for 5 years,is breaking up right?

Hey, guys. I am going insane today, as last night I confided in my amazing boyfriend about my desires to experience so many more things than our serious 5-year relationship in my 20s (i'm currently 23 and he's 27). He is so kind and understanding, and after describing to him that I can't be sure if he's right for me since I've never been with anyone else seriously, and that I am a nomad and have severe wanderlust, he understood and held me while I cried myself to sleep.

We have always had a very good relationship, though I do feel that I can't fully express who I am (I'm an artist and I'm definitely "weird" in comparison to most people). We have absolutely opposite personality types, but it does seem to work. He is very logical and a computer science major, and I'm a mystic with a love for spontaneity. He's very opinionated and hard-headed, while I'm more open and positive. We met shortly after I turned 18 and moved to college, and have lived together pretty much ever since.

I'm going to study art in Italy for 4 months starting at the end of January. This decision was not based on our relationship, but my intense desire to see everything possible. He shares a love of travel, but not the spontaneous, passionate desire for strange places like I do. I can't imagine carrying feelings of doubt about our relationship overseas.