Is it possible to hold a job and also work in a non-profit organization?

For example (my hypothetical situation): If I worked as a human resources manager or had a job in diplomacy, would I still be able to volunteer or even work part time in a non-profit organization like the Red Cross or some environmental group? Thanks!

Update:

@Pat: My question asked whether I would also be able to volunteer OR even work part-time... I never said that working with a non-profit is not a job. A degree in social work, or non-profit management would never have been offered if it were just a act of volunteering since a volunteer would obviously have no way to make money. My parents were social workers, I've volunteered with the same local non-profit organization for almost eight years (which I assume to be acceptable since I haven't even graduated from high school), there have been both volunteers AND employees. I only ask this because many companies seem to restrict you from holding two jobs at once, and I simply wanted to know if it was manageable to do both at once. I'm sorry if I offended you, and for the record, I'm clearly (by my age) not done growing up.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Best Answer

You cannot volunteer and be an employee with the same organization - you can be a paid employee with the American Red Cross, or a volunteer, but not both. That's to ensure you would never want to be paid for volunteer time.

You can volunteer anywhere that you aren't already working as an employee so long as you have the time and qualifications to do so.

You can volunteer somewhere and, later, be hired as an employee, but you would no longer be able to volunteer there.

Some nonprofits won't let former employees volunteer, for fear of the person trying to claim they should be paid for their volunteer work.

• 8 years ago