circuit design for a simple 120vac to 12vdc linear power supply?

Im new to electronics, can someone help me with a simple linear power supply to convert household 120 vac to 12vdc. I know ill need some sort of 120v-12v transformer, then a full wave rectifier using diodes, and a capacitor filter to smooth it out. This is for a simple electronics project in which i will only power a LED. Would i really need a voltage regulator component? can i achieve a smooth enough dc signal for my purpose with a high RC time constant on the capacitor filter. please help. I have search for many designs but i see various changes on them. if someone cam provide me with some insight, and the basic design with some values to achieve a near 12 v transformer, i would be really grateful.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Best Answer

Hi, u always have to connect a resistor to a led in series, otherwise u might burn eery thing on board! Regarding the power supply, check the link which introduce the design of simple and powerful power supply

• Mark G
    Lv 4
    8 years ago

NNNNNNNnnnnnnnnnnnaaaaaaaahhhhhh!!!! Other guy making things to be super complex! first than any thing else, LED's are designed from the ground up to use only 3V, You can use 12 ! but you will be having to buy at least one 100 oHm resistor! to bring down the resistance at the level of the LED!

U can buy LED's that are rigged from the factory to use 12V, but you will pay ten times as much just because they solder the resistor for you. The bridge rectifier is a good Idea! but expensive, you can use a single Diode, on one of the leads! that will give you a clean polarity! No need for capacitors or any thing else!