Study Questions for my Biology Exam !!?

I don't have a key to compare my answers to and I am new to this class so I don't know anyone else in it. Some feedback on these questions would be so helpful for me to see if I'm on the right track for my exam. Thanks!

Compare function and level of development of the coelom in annelids, molluscs, arthropods, echinoderms and chordates. Explain why differences exist.

How have arthropods and chordates adapted to terrestrial living? In what ways are their solutions similar? Different? Explain how those adaptations may have contributed to the groups’ success.

What are the four unique chordate characteristics? What is the significance of each structure (i.e., how did it aid in the group’s success)? How are these traits involved in locomotion and feeding in larvae or adults?

What traits allow craniates to be more active than other chordates? How did those traits contribute to higher activity levels?

Why is external fertilization more common in aquatic environments and internal fertilization more common in terrestrial environments?

Draw a phylogenetic tree for the major clades of animals. Indicate the origins of important derived traits on the trees. Discuss structure, function, and evolutionary significance of those traits.

1 Answer

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Bio II with Maher? Hope this helps.

1. Coelom development in annelids etc:

In annelids, produced by shizogony. Forms a hydrostatic skeleton and a space for egg storage.

In molluscs, the coelom forms a hydrostatic skeleton and provides suspension for the internal organs.

In arthropods, secondarily depricated as there is no need for a hydrostatic skeleton. Mostly replaced by haemocoel, but coelom still houses the reproductive organs.

In echinoderms, secondarily depricated and forms the basis of a circulatory system.

In chordates, well-developed and complete. Also not involved in hydrostatic skeleton.