Becoming a Graphic Designer without a degree?

This is going to be a lot of text, I know. If you work as a graphic designer I'd really appreciate you reading my story and giving me some advice! I'm a junior at a technical high school for Multimedia Communications and I'm extremely interested in the visual design aspect of that. I have had a... show more This is going to be a lot of text, I know. If you work as a graphic designer I'd really appreciate you reading my story and giving me some advice!

I'm a junior at a technical high school for Multimedia Communications and I'm extremely interested in the visual design aspect of that. I have had a talent for art my entire life and the principles of design came naturally to me when I started learning in school. For the last couple of years I've had my heart set on becoming a graphic designer-it's what I love to do and what I know I am good at. It is possible that next year I will be able to get a co-op job (going to work in a field related to my studies at school during the weeks I would normally spend in my shop). I have a teacher with excellent credentials and connections in the graphic design world who is hoping and working on getting some members of my class apprenticeships at graphic design firms. So that would give me real life experience and a head start.