Would it be hard to go from Olympic style taekwondo to ATA style taekwondo?

I am a Olympic style taekwondo artist been doing it ten years and I was just curious if the transition is hard or not... I always was a big fan of the sparring part and forms, I was undefeated the entire time I did it and was wondering if the fighting portion was tremendously different?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

lol

WTF is the only member in IOC (International Olympic Committee), so I am assuming that such is the one you are referring to, but if you are planning to transfer in ATA, then you make a wrong decision in your entire life as a Taekwondo practitioner, you are just ruining the respect some may give to you.

ATA is a big crap, people knows about this and we are hoping that few words here will let you wake about what's happening around.

Source(s): Senses Good luck
  • 9 years ago

you can make a decent transition from Atari to Olympic. now a lot of people down play the Ata saying their martial arts isn't good when in fact they keep striving. remember, it's the practitioner that brings the strategy and tactics to life. i have seen a good number of good martial artists in the ata. as for the mcdojahng nonsense, that's generalizing far too many schools. a lot of people who see one school think they all run the same. not true.

any how, the only difference between ata & Olympic rules is how points are scored. i believe rules for legal targets are the same.

Source(s): my own experience
  • possum
    Lv 7
    9 years ago

From a technical standpoint, both organizations compete, so no surprises here.

In WTF, it is closer to full-contact, whereas ATA is more point sparring. You'll have to lighten up the contact a bit.

WTF sparring rings are nearly twice the size of ATA, which means if you are good at keeping your distance, or like to use flying techniques, then an ATA ring will be much harder.