What will be the consequences of forgetting what is learnt and ineffective studying for a psychologist?

Hi everyone,

I'm currently a third year psychology student, and I've recently finished all of my psychology units. The units I've taken are: Psychology A, Psychology B, Biological Psychology, Lifespan Development, Social Psychology, Psychology of Learning, Theories of Personality, Psychological Testing, Cognitive Psychology and Abnormal Psychology. We have also covered a lot of statistics.

I worry that either a) I'll forget what I've already learnt, or b) I ineffectively studied, and didn't learn anything properly in the first place. I don't remember much of what I've learnt over my undergraduate years.

I'm interested in a career as a health psychologist. How will what I've forgotten from my undergraduate years affect my career as a health psychologist, or even as a psychologist? Will it affect me at all? If so, how??

A lot of what we're leant isn't all that practical, so I figure that I may be okay - it's more theoretical.

I'll be interested to hear everyone's opinions.

Thank you!

1 Answer

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

In the US, it's learned not learnt.

If you are a practicing psychologist then you will constantly be reviewing your books and you will learn from practical application. You won't need to know how many rats BF Skinner experimented on or what the exact contruction of his first box was, so it won't matter that you forget this, but you will need to know the concept of what a Skinner Box means to modern day disorders.