How do I get my arrest record expunged?

I was arrested earlier this year for a misdemeanor, possession of marijuana, charge. I plead guilty and took what they gave me. I probably should have gotten a lawyer and tried to minimize my punishment while also seeking to expunge this from my record before any charges were filed. At that time, and currently, I am a straight- A student at a university and have no other problems with the law. My concern is obviously regarding my future applications to various places of employment (background checks). When I web-search for "expungment," and other word variations of the service, I get spam-looking offers that make me hesitant to go forward. Who, how, or where should I be looking for a lawyer/service that can help me get this off my record? If it makes a difference, I was arrested in Georgia and I live in Florida.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

O.C.G.A. § 35-3-37(d) (1) allows for the expungement of arrest charges by a local law enforcement agency when certain conditions are met (as outlined in this statute). If approved by appropriate prosecutor, the arrest cycle is sealed on the Georgia criminal history report by GCIC. Access to that arrest information is restricted to criminal justice agencies only.

The following are examples of final court dispositions that may qualify: Dismissed: Not Presented to Grand Jury: No Further Action Anticipated; Nolle Prossed/Prosequi; Dead Docket; or No Record on File. Dispositions of Guilty, Not Guilty, Nolo Contendre, and First Offender Act are not eligible. It is recommended that you review a copy of your criminal history, prior to submitting the Request to Expunge Record, to ensure that all charges have a final disposition listed and the disposition may qualify for expungement. If a disposition is missing or incorrect, please contact the appropriate court; the court may transmit the disposition on-line.