Officer in Air Force?

I currently have a Bachelor's degree (BS) but unfortunately, it's not a very useful one. I was planning on becoming a physical therapist so I got a degree in Kinesiology concentration in Pre-PT (classes included: anatomy, physiology, chemistry, math classes) but I do not want to pursue that path anymore. I know there's so much more when applying for OTS, not just having a degree and all that, but my question is: Let's say, by any chance, I get accepted to OTS, can I have a different line of work that has nothing to do with my major? For the sake of my question, can I pick... let's say "Dermatologist" or "Optometrist" as my career?

Or if I'm going to do Officer, I'm locked in something that has to do with kinesiology?

Thank you in advance

Update:

I'm sorry I'm not familiar with this, that's why I'm asking. I was told to do direct commission, you're right. I put OTS because I thought that was the same, applies for training school.

And yes I've thought about that, I was thinking AF would provide some kind of additional training for specific careers, additional to the 4 years of school that graduates have already gotten.

Update 2:

@jeeper --- I was looking for your number 3 answer, I'd like to hear more about those officer jobs where AF will train so I don't have to stick to my kine degree

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

How can you be a dermatologist or optometrist when you haven't got a degree in it? Think about that for a minute. OTS, your job will be picked by the AFs needs. Direct commissions do their degree.

• Anonymous
    5 years ago