Riley asked in Social SciencePsychology · 9 years ago

child therapy and careers?

i am nearing the time in my life where i need to decide on a career. i want to make a difference in children's lives. many children out there fall victim to abuse of any kind. i'm talking 10 years old and younger. i would like to help them get through it. like a child therapist? does anyone have any information about this?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Elkay
    Lv 5
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Different states have different requirements but in general, you can get a certification in counseling in addition to a Masters in Social Work OR a PhD in Psychology. Talk to an adviser at a university you might be interested in to discuss what route is best for what you would like to do. Good luck, there are so many children who need you!

Source(s): I am a social work student.
  • Anonymous
    9 years ago

Ohh, I don't know if this would help at all but...

I would like to be a psychiatrist to all ages but mostly teens because I'm one right now (I'm 14) and I have a umm...very complicated life. I seriously wish that I had/have someone to help me through horrible times instead of keeping everything to myself and putting a fake smile at school everyday but I guess I'm okay with it now.

Right now, I just help my friends who had bad experiences (family, rape, what they think they should do for about anything) and they always ask me for help. ( I can't ask them because they're the self centered type that accidentally always makes the topic about them.)