how much easier is college than university?

so im in first year uni and i hate it. im failing miserably and i've already fallen very far behind. i think that i made the wrong decision going to university. i got high marks in high school (80%+ in almost every course) but honestly it was because i just worked really hard. i didn't really UNDERSTAND most of the stuff i learned. i only understood the basic ideas and practical examples (in subjects like math and chemistry). im really struggling now as a result.

so how much easier is college? and more importantly, will it benefit me more? i personally think that i would excel in college because i effortlessly aced the few "college level" courses i took in high school. but idk what do u think?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Todd
    Lv 7
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Before you do anything, go see a counselor (not the psychological kind, but the people that work in admissions and deal with other student problems). They can give you sound advice.

Going to a college is not really different than attending a university unless it is a trade school.

Secondary schooling is supposed to be hard. It's designed to test your mettle. You can have a 4.0 at high school but fail miserably in your first year of college. I think you'll find a rhythm that eventually works if you don't bite off more than you can chew.

High schools are too easy recently, offering up APs and college equivalents like candy, mostly to demonstrate they are successful and deserve funding. Most universities and colleges, when they say it's an advanced class, they really mean it.

• Anonymous
    4 years ago