how can I get motivated?

I'm a freshman at college and I haven't been working out like I used to, and it's starting show. what can I do to motivate myself so I can start losing this weight again

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Don't worry, it's normal to gain a little weight when you start college.

Write down your goals and how your plan to lose the weight.

Keep a picture of yourself before you gained a little (if it's that noticeable of a weight gain) and keep your mind set of getting there again.

If you've noticed that any of your clothing has gotten a little snug, keep it and make it a goal to be able to fit into that shirt, pair of pants, anything just right.

Don't take short cuts when walking around. Take the long way if you have time. Set a time that you want to workout and make it happen. Maybe you can get a friend to do it with you so you both can have motivation and help each other along the way.

Hope I helped even a little. Good luck. :)

• 9 years ago

Ok, here's a 3 way motivation system that works for me:

1. Take a picture of yourself so you can see how you look at the heavier weight. I encourage you to write down your starting stats (weight, circumference of trouble spots like waist and hips) in bold bright color directly onto this picture. This is your start pic.

2. Buy a calendar and pick 1 day a week (I use Saturday) to do a Stat Check for weight and the circumference of your waist & hips, or other trouble spots. You must write down your stats on your calendar, again bold and easy to read. It's motivating if your start pic is attached to or posted near the calendar in plain view.

3. Buy yourself clothing in the size you want to be (nothing too crazy, go 1 or 2 dress sizes down). It should fit you at your ideal weight. Leave that article of clothing (I usually use a slinky dress or a flirty swimsuit) on a hanger and have it also posted in plain view (near your calendar & start pic helps).