which power tool brand to buy?

i am an electrician and im looking for power tools to use at work.

i was thinking about either porter cable or dewalt, they both have the tools i am looking for but i keep hearing dewalt is better for work and porter cable is better for home, is there a certain reason for this?

at the moment i do plan on getting: impact drill, cordless/corded radio, recip. saw, circ. saw, and possibly more in the future.

i would also like to know if there is a benefit to NiCad or Li-ion in my situation

Thanks

8 Answers

Relevance
  • XTX
    Lv 7
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

=== Klein for the handtools and DeWalt for the battery operated power 20volts --- remember to save the corded tools as those batteries can flip out and you want to keep working ... """My battery died so I just had to go and get a beer or two""" [[ sounds like my brother ]]] LOL .... you will be happy with the new line of DeWalt [[ the way to make a battery in a hand op tool to last is to use it up and then recharge a very low battery -- charging a batt because you do not want to run-out of power is not a correct action and that actually wears out the battery at a faster rate }}} get a surge protector plug end it's about the size of a stubby screw-driver handel to use for your charger on the jobsite as those gas powered generators can surge ....

• krn001
    Lv 7
    8 years ago

I've been a DeWalt fan for almost 20 years. The 12V drill/driver from 1994 still has the original batteries. The 18V 5 1/4" circ saw from 5 years ago already needed new batteries. The key is to use cordless tools quite often. When they sit without being used the batteries don't seem to hold a charge for long, maybe that's why the drill has lasted 17 years. If you buy from the big box stores the tool is not the same. Most of them are speced out with plastic gears & parts, get them from a tool store, lumber yard etc.

• Linda
    Lv 4
    4 years ago