I want to be a firefighter, what do I study in college?

Its about time for me to start applying to colleges and I REALLY would like to become a firefighter. I know that to have higher chances of becoming a firefighter it would be better if I got a 2 years Associate degree under Fire Science, and if I became EMT certified and then became a paramedic afterwards. But I would really like to go to a 4 year college. The schools Im wanting to go to are University of California in Irvine, and California Baptist University. My real question is what academics will I study under? If im going about this wrong let me know, I just want to become a firefighter as soon as I can, preferably a paramedic firefighter.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Geomi
    Lv 7
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I have studied and made recommendations for students who have wanted to become firepersons, and what I have learned is that the best and most efficient way to do that is apply at your nearest firehouse to be enrolled in a specialized fire fighting program right out of high school.

The route you want to take is a more expensive and will add four years of college when their are no four year colleges or community colleges that offer what you called "fire science." Another way which is also longer and more expensive is to go to a college that offers forestry as a major, and take a four year program there, then go to the firehouse and train as a fire fighter. Colleges that offer forestry as a major are as follows:

United States

Northeast Division of Forestry, Natural Resources, and Recreation, Paul Smith's College

School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, Yale University

College of Natural Sciences, Forestry and Agriculture, University of Maine

Department of Plant Science and Landscape Architecture, University of Maryland

Department of Natural Resources Conservation, University of Massachusetts

Department of Natural Resources and the Environment, University of New Hampshire