Hi I have to write research paper for my college english class need help.?

Its my first year in college and I'm in english. This is our first paper and I'm kinda nervous and confused on how to write this paper. I plan to do the paper on The Story of an Hour and/or A Rose for Emily. (both are short stories). Im just confused on what the topics really mean. I will copy the... show more Its my first year in college and I'm in english. This is our first paper and I'm kinda nervous and confused on how to write this paper. I plan to do the paper on The Story of an Hour and/or A Rose for Emily. (both are short stories). Im just confused on what the topics really mean. I will copy the rubric for the paper below. Thanks for you help.
Research Essay #1

Your Assignment: Write a 3-4 page research essay on one or more short stories that you have been assigned this semester.

Possible topics are:
• An analysis of a particular work in terms of plot, point of view, character, tone, irony, diction, and/or humor. You could focus on one of these elements of fiction, or on several. (Guidance for writing this type of paper can be found in the “Writing About…” sections that conclude chapters 1, 2, 3, and 6.)
• An analysis of an idea or quality common to two or more works (comparison/contrast)
• An analysis of the origin and development of a particular work in terms of the author’s biography or attitudes/positions
• An analysis of the origin and development of a particular work in terms of the time period and significant events associated with when the work was written
Also, refer to p. 21-31 and 608-610 for topic selection guidance.

As a research essay, your paper should:
• Contain and cite information from three or more relevant, credible academic sources other than your textbook. No more than one of them may be a website. The best way to locate these is by using the library catalog and library databases, NOT “regular” internet searches.