Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Anonymous

What would you do? Advice!!!?

I'm old. Im 23 and still in school. I have a huge amount of student loans (we're talking like $20,000)

and I'm most likely only going to make around $35,000 per year after I have my degree.

Since I'm 23 and I had to move out because of my age, I'm financially independent and I'm working 40 hours a week at a photo studio (a job I love) and going to school and just got a bartending job ontop of everything. I make $16–$18 per hour bartending. That's more than I made being an intern (I made $14.50 being just an intern.)

All of my friends are buying houses and fixing them up and have regualar steady jobs. With bartending and the photo studio I only make about $30,000 per year :(

Is finishing school really worth it? I desperately want to get a small house. I've even been talking with a realtor and have a portal that he can send me listings on that are appropriate for my income. I don't make a ton of money, but I'm pretty content besides having to deal with school. Is it time to kick school to the curb and just work the jobs I have?

I have experience from school and also have a few clients that I freelance design for and get paid. I just made $1,000 for a logo design.

What should I do?

I need to get my life going!

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I would finish your schooling and the reason why is that people only regret not finishing school. It is difficult to go back school later on. I know because I just finished my Master's Degree and I'm in my 40ties.