Anonymous

Should I stay at Rice, for prestige and honor, or transfer to HBU, to study Education?

I'm studying at Rice University at Houston. My family moved with me, and we bought a house very close to Rice. However, even though it's considered a very honorable University and my parents are very proud of me... I sometimes feel empty.

I want to be a Teacher. And I was planning to study English at Rice and then do a Teacher Certification to teach it. However, I know that I'll never teach Elementary School kids College English and I'm kinda hesitant to spend 4 years of my life studying something that isn't my passion. my passion is teaching.

In Houston Baptist University they have the Education major and I fell in love with the courses I saw on the program! but it's a difficult decision because it doesn't give me the prestige, the honor, of being in one of the best Universities of America and well.. I live next door to Rice.

HBU is also Baptist, and I'm Catholic. It's not exclusive though, I can get in and everything.

What should I choose?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Best Answer

Dear A. Valentina,

My name is Giovanna and I am currently a student with HBU. I am completing my Student Teaching Internship and will graduate with a BA in English Education this December. A friend noticed your post and thought I may be able to help.

I too believe teaching is a call, a mission. It took me several years to decide to accept the call. When I was ready, HBU welcomed me with open arms. As an HBU student, I have had a GREAT experience with HBU School of Education. The professors are caring, experienced, and knowledgeable. Each have had years of classroom and adminstrative experience prior to becoming professor. The classes are small and each semester there are observation hours required in a real classroom, so you may see your coursework in action.