What city should 2 young, fun American females move in Australia?

Hello there! I am a 24 year old who just recently graduated college and have decided to move to Australia on a one year holiday working visa. My 20 year old sister has decided to take a semester (or possibly a year) off of college to join me on my adventure. I studied abroad in Rome, Italy last year for 6 months... show more Hello there! I am a 24 year old who just recently graduated college and have decided to move to Australia on a one year holiday working visa. My 20 year old sister has decided to take a semester (or possibly a year) off of college to join me on my adventure. I studied abroad in Rome, Italy last year for 6 months and absolutely LOVED it! I traveled all over Europe every single weekend and loved indulging in all the different cultures.

I have 3 guy friends from high school who are moving to St. Kilda (below Melbourne) this month and I was originally just going to follow them out to the same city. My sister and I just got approved for our visas and have one way flights to Melbourne mid- October. I've been researching jobs, apartments, and nightlife in St. Kilda and it definitely seems to be fun, but also has me wondering if it's the best place to choose out of all the other popular cities in Australia.

What were looking for is:
-somewhere with a pretty common nightlife.. we will both just be getting restaurant jobs and will want to have the option to go out for some drinks and meet new people on any day of the week since we won't know anybody at first
-a city with a lot to explore and things to do.. like beaches, museums, concerts, etc.