Should I buy a mountain bike or a road bike?

I'm a college student interested in buying a bike. I'm going to use it mostly to ride around campus and around the city. I'm 6'3" and about 300 lbs. I have only ever ridden mountain bikes but have good things about road bikes. I keep asking my friends but am getting mixed answers. Which should I get?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

If you are only planning on every riding around campus it doesn't really matter. I would guide you towards a hybrid style bike (or commuter) which tend to be the cheapest options for bikes. They generally don't have suspension and the tire width is around 27-30 mm (between the road bike and mountain bike). If you want to get more into riding than think a bit about your geography. If you live by hills or mountains there are likely good riding trails, so maybe get a mountain bike. If you live somewhere that is very flat, they perhaps a road bike will suit your needs better.

My recommendation would be to find a local used bike store that fixes up and resells bikes. A big problem on college campuses is theft. So if you get a super nice bike, it is a big target. However bikes last a long time if taken care of and thus a used one will provide you with a good ride while still keeping the peace of mind that it won't get stolen as likely.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 9 years ago

Honestly, there isn't much difference aside from suspension and frame design. Even costs are similar. Really, your best bet is heading to a bike shop and discussing it with the staff. More importantly, you will want to find the right SIZE bike for you.

I'd personally like a mountain bike, just for the versatility. While you may not go off-road much, riding off curbs is a lot more comfortable with some suspension.

• hatt
    Lv 4
    3 years ago