Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

How to value a small business?

I am looking for a simple formula to value a small business that I am interested in buying.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Pricing a business correctly is important if you really want to sell it. As a consultant I talk to many business owners, brokers, and agents on a daily basis about valuing businesses. It always amazes me on how some of these individuals come up with the values on small businesses being sold. No wonder only 30% of all businesses sell. In many instances no consideration is given to the total picture—will the available cash flow of the business be able to pay the debt of a loan, will the deal as structured or priced be attractive to financing sources, "cash" price vs. "note" price and how these factors figure into the equation.

• glise
    Lv 4
    4 years ago