Freelance web designers? How much should i charge? And other tips?

I have been doing freelance web projects for the past year. I have always just told my clients, to pay me what they can, and let me use their website in my resume. I think it is time to take my web designing skills to the next level. So how much should i be charging for my work? Should I charge per hour, or just a flat rate for the sight? I know most web designers charge by the hour, but I am pretty new to this, so I would have a hard time estimating right away how many hours it would take me to build a site.

I am very good at html, and css. I have also used little amounts of java scripting and flash in my websites. I am currently learning PHP and some other languages, however if anyone asked me to build a website using intensive scripting I would not feel comfortable enough to build it.

My current specialty has been building and designing relatively simple websites, that are super easy to update. I always make sure that the pictures are easily replaceable, and the texts and links are really easy to update. And then i leave them with a manual, of how to update their site. This has gone over very well for me, and has made my clients very happy. I wish to keep offering this type of service... But i just have no idea what to charge..

I also have no idea, about the legal side of freelancing. Im sure i have to pay income tax and stuff... so if you are a freelance web designer and would just like to share some general knowledge with me that would be very very much appreciated!!

Thanks!

3 Answers

Relevance
  • M S
    Lv 5
    8 years ago
    Best Answer