Florida knife carrying law help?

the Florida statutes confuse me with their local & state laws. im turning 17 this coming October and i'm planning on getting a knife. I have been carrying folding pocketknives for 4 years now. I am a very active person and i like to go fishing, hiking, etc. and my last knife broke and i never realized how often i use it and need it until i didnt have it. So i was thinking about getting a fixed blade instead of a folder because the blade lock is what broke on my old knife. the only thing is that i dont know if there are any specific rules about fixed blades. so even if i was looking for a folder, i would want one that at least has assisted opening instead of pulling the blade out manually. a few "rules" i've been told are that the knife cant be longer than your extended hand when it's opened. im not sure if this rule goes for fixed blades also. i live on the outskirts of town sort of between the country and the city. cops are common in the area and i just dont feel like getting a $50+ knife confiscated, so what can you tell me?

also, i wasn't planning on concealment, just an exposed sheath. but i was wondering if i were to put the sheath in my pocket (handle still exposed) is that still concealment? and what if i decide to get a folding knife, if i clip it to my pocket and its visible, thats not concealment is it? can someone clarify the laws please?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago
    Best Answer

You are allowed to carry concealed in Florida.}{

The state of Florida allows residents to carry concealed weapons as a means of self defense provided that they follow all laws and obtain a proper license. However, there are specific instances and specific knives where this right is not extended.

Knives and minors