<!-------What should I code-------!>?

I am a current student with nothing to do except read. I am working towards my BS in Computer Science. I am familiar with PHP, Java, C, C++, and other stuff such as HTML and CSS. I have no idea what to code and even though I know there are tons of exercises online I wanted an opinion from everyone else. Keep the ideas coming......

Update:

I am not creative whatsoever. I have made my own programs before like a Duplicate file remover (couldn't find a decent one). I just wanted some input on anything people would think was interesting.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Write something you know you're likely to need again later, like a Login Screen for example.

Include a "Forgot your password?" link with some methodology for a user to identify himself if he forgets his password. They typically include a small set of questions that supposedly only the user will know the answer to.

Include a "Register new account" page which checks to make sure a user_id hasn't been used yet, confirms the password is more complicated than "1234" or "password", and gets the email plus whatever other information may be required. (Such as the various security questions.) Have the page send a confirmation email to the new user, and maybe add some kind of a "Captcha" to help minimize registering robots and brats with too much spare time. (I had a "click here for information" page once, and you wouldn't believe how much garbage people would cram in there, just to see if the system would take it.)