Christians against Psychology?

Are Christians against psychology? I am a Psychology Grad student, who is a Christian and obviously think psychology is helpful and necessary. However, I had a comment from a fellow Christian that psychology is wrong. Is there any biblical scripture backing up his claims?

19 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I am not a Christian, but I am a psychologist. I hope you don't mind my answering your question. I know many psychologists who are also deeply religious. I also know many clergy who have studied psychology in order to better serve their parishioners. None of these people have ever claimed that psychology and Christianity conflict in any way. We study human behavior and the human mind. Perhaps the Christian who told you this should be reminded that by your beliefs, God blessed you with the desire to help others when they need it most.

Though I am not Christian, I highly encourage my religious clients to continue their therapy while also seeking comfort in the their faith. We certainly do not believe that religious people are suffering from psychosis.

Good luck in your studies. As a fellow grad student, I know how difficult it can be.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 9 years ago

It's a tough area for me in some cases. I am Christian and studied psychology, worked in mental health for years, have a mental illness etc.

I distrust psychology. I trust medical psychiatry because I have to. I wish I had stayed on my nursing track.

psychology in general is a soft science. Biopsychology/Neuropsychology is the study of the brain in relation to psychology and is a medical field.

Freud was a crazy, drug addicted pervert. The rest of them made some advances and discoveries that are worthy, but psychological theories do not usually hold up under the scientific method and are not much more than conjecture.