Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Need advice on how to deal with computer restrictions in collage.?

I'm going to collage in about a week and need some advice. I'm going for Computer Science/Computer Engineering and I'm a programmer now and kind of a computer geek. My problem is that the school's network has rules that say that a student can't use programs like bittorrent or utorrent and you also can't use any local servers like a server on there network. Both of these rules are a problem for me. I use bittorrent to download pretty much everything like the Linux distros I use and the software that I use. I don't store any of my data on my computer and use a external hard drive to store my data right now but I wanted to setup a server to store my data because I need more space plus I would like to be able to access it from anywhere. My plan was to turn my old machine into a Linux server but I'm not sure what type of server to setup.

My requirements are:

1. I need to be able to store my data on it and have read and write access to my data. I was thinking ftp but I'm not sure if there is a better way of doing it.

2. I need to be able control the server from anywhere like starting the other servers and having admin rights. Also I need to be able to login from anywhere just in case the server restarts or shuts down. I was thinking ssh but again not sure if there is a better way.

3. I need to be able to download torrent files on it. Not sure how to do this but I know it can be done.

Currently the computer has Arch Linux on it but I heard of FreeNAS before. Does anyone one know what I can do to solve my problem?

Update: