My Mom Says I'm Skinny and Look Unhealthy?

My mom just told me that I'm too skinny for my age, and that I look unhealthy. I'm 13 about to turn 14 years old, 5 feet tall, and I weigh 98 lbs. Am I too skinny or anorexic or something? Hearing things like that from my mom makes me feel insecure and bad about myself.

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Best Answer

Well i just did the math, and it looks like you have approximately a 19 BMI. Im not an expert, but i know lots of people that have a 19 or even less. One of my best friends is 6"1' and 130 pounds. Thats skinny, but hes not going to starve any time soon.

Simple answer: Your mom is wrong.

I wish i was a little skinnier! 5"10 150lbs.

Source(s): BMI Calculator: http://www.nhlbisupport.com/bmi/
  • 8 years ago

A lot of it depends on your body composition, and "looking healthy" and "being healthy" are not always the same thing. Particularly when you are within the range of a healthy BMI, what's more important is how you feel about yourself. I used to be 140 lbs, 5'10" or so, which is a fairly average BMI (20.1). At that point I started lifting weights and put on about 25 pounds (23.7 BMI). In both cases, I was considered a "healthy weight" (18.5 - 24.9 BMI). However, I certainly felt better at 165, and people did comment that I looked healthier. Again, it depends on the individual though.

• 8 years ago

Thats healthy. I'm 17 5''1 and weigh 95 lbs. So dont feel insecure. My mom used to say the same thing but i look past it because i love my size. Be proud of it. Many people wish they were that size.

Source(s): Me
  • 8 years ago

Weight is not only dependent of height, but also on body build. If you have a big frame, 98lbs will be a little on the low side. If your body is average, you will be slim but not too skinny (BMI=19.16, the recommended range is 20-25 but above 15 is not considered a problem). If you are petite, you might be about right.