Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceInvesting · 8 years ago

Stocks Question - discount broker?

Hello everyone,

I am new to the stock world and am currently reading up on stocks and how they work, etc.

I was just wondering what makes a good discount broker vs an actual broker firm? I am interested in doing it solo so I want more of the online stock trade - I like being able to handle and control what I am doing, especially in a bear market I want to be able to deal with the risk myself.

Any advice (not related to which stocks to pick) after I understand the market a little better I may ask a question about stocks.

So as noted, any advice would be appreciated, what makes a successful investor vs. what everyone else says about investing. I don't see it as risky as long as you watch closely and invite change, and be able to handle it long term and spread out the investment.

Thank you.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago
    Best Answer

An introductory book like _Stock Markets for Dummies_ is a good place to start. This will address most concepts--including what to look for in a discount broker.

Investors Business Daily (IBD) is a solid daily resource (and its complement, www.investors.com ). It's a better newspaper than the Wall Street Journal and it is built around a particular approach to trading. You could read _How to Make Money in Stocks_ by William O'Neil too--he's the founder of IBD.

Search your local library for other books on stock investing. Try to absorb as much knowledge and understanding as you can. Eventually, you should open a brokerage account and paper trade for a while--this is practice (not real money), which you should do extensively before you put any real money at risk.

Source(s): Investing since 1987
  • 8 years ago