How can I get the IRS to send my CA New Home Buyers Tax Credit?

I meet all of the requirements for California's First Home Buyers Tax Credit. My CPA prepared my return and we filed all necessary paperwork. I've been working with my CPA on this since April15th 2011.

It's now July 29, I have still not received my refund. The IRS has sent me two letters asking for the same information each time. My CPA has told me this has been happening with all of her clients in regards to the First Time Home Buyers Tax Credit. Same for my CPA's colleagues. The IRS will continue to send notices until I give up.

How can I get the IRS to quit stalling and send me my refund??? Has anyone in CA received their credit?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Russ B
    Lv 6
    8 years ago
    Best Answer

Okay Two problems...first the IRS has nothing to do with a CA tax credit. That is up to CA.

The second is a bigger problem that I would like to explain to you abd anyone else that reads this, a CPA isn't a tax expert! A CPA is a Certified Public Accountant...they do auditing (the same thing the IRS does but in a different way). Now to be fair I know several CPA's that are very good at taxation...most aren't. In fact most CPA's hire an EA (Enrolled Agent) to prepare the tax returns for them (or someone like a EA).

If your CPA hasn't explained that the CA New Home Buyers Tax Credit is isn't a Federal (meaning IRS issue) you should fire him!

Now if you actually filed for the federal program. of First Time Home Buyers Credit...then you should see an EA (Enrolled Agent) to see if you really qualify...and then to solve the problem.

Source(s): 25+ years of experience and a EA.
  • Bobbie
    Lv 7
    8 years ago

Ca New Home Buyers Tax Credit is and was A NONREFUNDABLE tax credit.

The tax credits are nonrefundable, and unused credits cannot be carried over.