landlord in foreclosure, missed 18 payments but wants me to move for missing a payment first time in 9 yrs!?

Why is it right for my landlord, who has not paid his mortgage for the last 18 months while failing to respond to all the notices that his lender and the courts have sent him since 2009, to harass me endlessly every time the rent is due?

I am a law-abiding citizen and I know what the law says - I am obligated to pay rent to him until otherwise notified by the bank or the Court system about a change of ownership...yadi yada - but here is the scenario:

I have been renting the top floor of a two-family dwelling since 2002 from a middle-eastern immigrant who lives on the first floor. This is a dwelling that was raided by the FBI, in full swat gear with automatic sub-machine guns drawn, 3 or 4 years ago because they had reason to believe he was harboring a suspected terrorist or something to that effect. To say we were shocked as tenants is putting it mildly. Nonetheless after asking us some questions and spending some time questioning the landlord's family, the FBI left. The landlord and his wife later explained it was all a misunderstanding.

That's just background and on hindsight, we should have moved out then. However, let's skip back to the present.

We recently found out the house is in foreclosure. (I have confirmed it for a fact and also spoke to the lender's attorney who said he could not give me information or advice but did not object when I said I was planning on withholding rent to save enough to move out.) A Notice of Intent to foreclose was sent to the Municipal Clerk's office in October, 2009. The last action on record was on July 2010 at which time an application for entry of final judgment was filed. I also found out he has not responded to any of the legal notices sent to him and hasn't even bothered to pay his mortgage in over 18 months.