Sadie asked in Business & FinanceInsurance · 9 years ago

Suggestions/advice for college student health insurance plan please?

Hello, I'm entering my 2nd year of an American college in MA and my school has sent me the option to take up the school's health insurance plan with the company "Gallagher Koster" (I am allowed to waiver it). It is a "Student Injury and Sickness Insurance Plan underwritten by HPHC Insurance Company, Inc (Harvard Pilgrim Health Care)". It will cost $1989 annually.

My question is: should I take up this plan, or look for another one online? Do you have any suggestions? Are there better priced ones out there that are competetive to this one?

Last year, I opted for this plan and there were no problems, I only ever got a prescription for an eye cream. I am a full-time student, I am not active in sports, outdoorsy, or drive a car. Btw I am an American citizen (not international).

School plan highlights:

Highlights of the Coverage and Services offered by Gallagher Koster are:

 Up to a $100,000 per each Injury or Sickness Maximum Benefit for Covered Medical

Expenses.

 $100 deductible Per Insured Person, Per Policy Year for Preferred Providers and $200

deductible Per Insured Person, Per Policy Year for Out-of-Network providers The

Preferred Providers for this plan are the HPHC Insurance Company Network in MA,

ME and NH, and the United Healthcare Options PPO in all other areas.

 Covered Medical Expenses for Preferred Providers are payable at 90% of Preferred

Allowance and Out-of-Network benefits are payable at 70% of Usual and Customary

charges (all benefits are subject to satisfaction of the deductible, specific benefit

limitations, maximums and copays as described in the policy).

 Prescription Drug Benefits: $10 copay for Tier 1 / $25 copay for Tier 2 /$45 copay for

Tier 3 up to a 31-day supply per prescription. $2000 maximum per policy year.

Prescriptions must be filled at a UnitedHealthcare Network Pharmacy.