Nikon vs Canon? Buying a Camera?

Hi, I'm a beginner photographer, but this is pretty much what I want to do with my life. Photography and dog rehabilitation. Obviously, neither would actually get me a lot of money, but I'm hoping that, with photography, I could try to work for NatGeo. Anyway, as of now, I have no way to get a job (I... show more Hi, I'm a beginner photographer, but this is pretty much what I want to do with my life. Photography and dog rehabilitation. Obviously, neither would actually get me a lot of money, but I'm hoping that, with photography, I could try to work for NatGeo.

Anyway, as of now, I have no way to get a job (I don't have a way to get to a place until Fall, when I get my driver's license and a car) so my grandparents have agreed to buy me a camera. The problem is, they aren't exactly loaded. So, my dad is also going to pitch in.

Yes, this makes me feel extremely useless. But, with whatever money I'll make, most of it will be going to my grandparents. I do plan to help them with everything I possibly can.

Anyway, I would really like a Nikon, but I've heard that Canon also makes good photography cameras.

Basically, I need something that's under $500. Preferably under $400, but I understand if that's a little low. I want something that's fairly easy to use, but something that will also give me control. Basically, not exactly a regular point-and-shoot, but not something so advanced that I have to spend three hours on the manual. That's another thing. I would definitely like the manual to be easy-to-understand. I am rather intelligent, but I'm also rather lazy. The only thing that I really enjoy putting forth any effort for is photography and dog training.