Paul asked in Arts & HumanitiesGenealogy · 9 years ago

Genealogy With Facebook's Help?

I heard how Facebook has reunited loved ones after all these years and right now I am tracing my family tree and I would like to use Facebook. This is what I plan to do, Since I can post a message to Everyone, I will ask if you are related to so and so, please message me and I will explain that I do have ways to find out who is legitimate or not, which I do have ways to do it.

I do have info that you cannot find using Ancestry but I would like your opinion, should I go this route on Facebook to try and find potential relatives?? I have been researching my family tree since 2007 and am interested in finding cousins from one family line. Should I try this route?? Do you suggest another way??

Update:

I know the dangers of doing this that I may come in contact with the wrong type of person but I am smart enough to not give out any private info to anyone.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Sure. One line (I was family secretary for many years) has exactly such a page for Fullingim descendents. Although I emphasize here that everyone with any last name is not necessarily related, ones from this name, are. Be sure and title your page explicitly enough to define exactly what family it is. You will find some who have no interest in genealogy, but that is always true.

Back in the day..and I mean when phones had such things as long distance charges..I looked up the last name all over the country and cold called. Yes..I did! And made many connections. Once I was able to make clear I was not a bill collector (made sure I got that out front fast), almost everyone was happy to hear from me. We got a family reunion going, and dug up tons of off record info like old pics and such.