Anonymous

Bard College at Simon's Rock?

I'm going to be a sophomore in high school this fall and I'm considering applying to Bard College at Simon's Rock "The Early College". I'd like for someone who is currently going to this school or who went to this school to tell me what the school is really like, how it works, and what the classes are like. I've been to the website and it's very informative but I'd like to hear about it from someone who's been there and experienced it.

1 Answer

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago
    Best Answer

Hi, it’s great to hear from a student interested in Simon’s Rock! I am currently a student going into my senior year here. What is it like? Well, it’s not like anything else. It is very small, only about 400-450 students, and it is in the middle of the woods in the Berkshires. This means that while it is very beautiful, it is also somewhat isolated if you happen to be used to city life. For me, I really got an idea about what Simon’s Rock is like when I left it this past year. For my junior year, I did a study abroad program in Germany with a large group of other students (mostly American). As we spent more time with each other, we talked about our different colleges and universities. In talking, I began to realize just how different Simon’s Rock is. Many of my friends frequented lectures full of hundreds of other students where the professor couldn’t possibly know their name. Others skipped or slacked off because the teachers wouldn’t know they weren’t there anyway. Although not all of their classes were like that, many were. I started to realize how lucky we are at Simon’s Rock. Staff and students are on a mandatory first name basis, and class sizes rarely exceed 20-25 (the majority resting at about 12). This means that if you are in a class, you have to participate; otherwise it will be obvious that you have not prepared. For me, the classes have always been hands-on and engaging, even the ones that I am required to take. T