How hard is it to get an FHA loan? Do most places take them?

I am new to exploring the housing market. Wondering what you need to get an FHA loan (first time home buyers), and can you use them to buy a foreclosure or short sale? Can they be used for any home, or just certain ones?

What type of credit score do you need?

Do you need to be a minority, or poor?

Do you have to already own a home?

How many years of constant employment do they look for?

Does family status matter?

Update:

Any mortgage bankers on tonight? ;)

I want to have an idea of what I am looking at before I go through any specific agencies who may try to rape me.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Jim
    Lv 4
    8 years ago
    Best Answer

FHA Loan:

Minimum credit score is 600 with some lenders. Typically is 620. With a 660 score you can get a 4.5% rate on a 30 year with NO points. With under $2000 in closing costs + The fha mip fee which goes to the federal government departent of HUD. The mip (mortgage insurance premium) is a fee that gets financed into the loan, which is about 1% of the total loan amount.

You can use an FHA loan to purchase foreclosures and short sales, however you'll want to pay attention to the condition of the house. If there are any problems with the house you may run into issues, as an FHA is much more detailed.

What type of credit score do you need? 600, but 660 to get a good rate.

Do you need to be a minority, or poor? No, that would be illegal.

Do you have to already own a home? No

How many years of constant employment do they look for? 2 years would be good, but not necessarily required.

Does family status matter? No

EDIT: Correcting some other incorrect answers. You pay a monthly mip (pmi) no matter how much you put for a down payment on an FHA loan. And you pay it for a minimum of 5 years. If you put 90% down you still have to pay it. That's why 99% of the people that can put 20% down don't do FHA loans.

• 8 years ago