Can a sheriff from my county write me a ticket once I am within my gated community (apartment complex)?

I had a sheriff without his running lights on, parked in front of my complex trying to pull people over around 10:30 P.M. I was playing music in my car fairly loud when I pulled in to the complex and saw the Sherriff's vehicle so I turned down the music fully and scanned my gate card entering my complex, . The officer flipped his headlights on and begun following me into the complex, after the officer followed me almost all the way to my apartment he flipped his lights on and pulled me over giving me a ticket for a sound violation. Later I heard that Officers were not allowed to pull you over once you enter a gated community (apartment complex) because it is considered private property. Is this true, and should I challenge this and bring it to court?

I'm a full time college student, so paying this ticket is at the bottom of my list.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • q S
    Lv 7
    9 years ago
    Best Answer

Can a sheriff issue a ticket inside a gated community? of course they can.

Can a sheriff deputy follow a vehicle, suspected of committing a violation, into a gated community? Yes

Can a sheriff investigate a crime that occurred in a gated community? Yes

• Bruce
    Lv 7
    9 years ago

As long as the officer observes a violation while you are on a public road, he can follow you on to public property. The officer is not allowed to enter structures, but is allowed on private property while on official business.

Having a law like you describe would be dangerous. Everyone would scramble for their driveway anytime they thought they were getting pulled over.

By the way you describe it, it sounds like one or more of the residents there complained about your loud music, and he was there specifically waiting for you.

Worst case, you can request the court to make payments over time.

Source(s): Law enforcement since 1991
  • Stop taking advice from morons.