Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsOutdoor RecreationHunting · 9 years ago

long range rifle shooting range estimation?

I'm new to scopes and will be getting a .22 LR CZ 452 American and a Tasco 3-9x40 scope 30/30 recticle. At what range should I zero this scope at the will work for close range shooting and how can I estimate distance without mil-dot or range-finder. Is there a binocular with mil-dot you can recommend? And advise for a newbie?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • DJ
    Lv 5
    9 years ago
    Best Answer

First off, I would recommend sighting in at 50yrds, then once you get comfortable with the rifle, extend out to a 100yrd zero. In general, the effective range for a .22lr is about 50yrds, but skilled marksman can deliver accurate shots to 100yrds with a .22lr, especially the CZ 452 (now replaced by the CZ 455). Be sure to make an accurate range card for your rifle and load (i.e. a recipe card with the different drops for different ranges written on it taped to the side of your stock) so you can quickly reference the proper hold over for different ranges while you're in the field. A .22lr with a 100yrd zero will strike 4" above zero at 50yrds and 6" BELOW zero at 125yrds, so having an accurate field card is critical, you'll need to be able to estimate your range to within 10yrds in order to accurately estimate the drop of your bullet at that range. Small game targets don't leave much margin for error, so being 3" off target might still kill a deer cleanly, but being 3" off on a squirrel is a total miss.