Chances of getting into west point?

I am a Sophomore currently going to a high school in Michigan. I have a 3.75 gpa with honors and ap credits. I participate in two sports, Cross Country and Lacrosse (I also do power lifting). For Clubs I do a program called CATS connect which tutors students with their studies. Also, I have been projected to score a 29-32 on the ACT. I come from a lower class family if that affects the selection process.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Tom
    Lv 7
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Chances will definitely increase with a 32 on the Act as opposed to a 29. A 32 is getting into scholastic based Loa range. Suggest also taking the Sat even though it is not as prevalent in the Midwest. It is on the east Coast as it has roots in the ivy league. Some students do much better on one exam than on the other. The Psat Math only tests Algebra 1 and Geometry. The Sat Math also tests Algebra 2 and the Act Math adds Trig into the mix. You will want competitive scores on the Psat, Plan, Sat or Act by Mid December when West Point begins to accept applications for SLS. Competitive scores are upper 600's low 700's on the Sat. Upper 60's low 70's on the Psat. Act upper 20's Low 30's. According to Colonel Batchelder at around the 1:20 mark of this video that was on the West Point website till it was redesigned a couple of months ago:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XRWc9GiSMCA

Youtube thumbnail