Cyclocross Bike Build Advice?

I bought this bicyle's bike frame & fork.

http://www.marinbikes.com/2011/bike_specs.php?seri...

I'm scouting out what wheels/rims to buy for my build but I'm not familiar with brands and value. Just looking for some input. I plan to buy the major components then work with my local bike shop to put it all together. Would like to find something on ebay or CL for no more than 400$.

I live and almost exclusively ride in NYC, I got the Cyclocross frame for weekend/vacation trail runs.

Also, was thinking about bullhorn handlebars, any thoughts/concerns? Suggestions?

I'm pretty new to this and trying to learn as I go. if you have any advice about this endeavour would love to hear it.

O and should the cups for a headset be locked securely into the frame or is alright if they are loose and become tightened when the fork is attached.

Thanks in advance.

Update:

the budget for my WHEELS is 400$...

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I'll answer your last question first. That bike uses an "integrated" headset. There are no cups in an integrated headset. What you are describing as cups are actually the cartridge bearings. The headtube in your frame is milled to allow these cartridge bearings to precisely fit, though the movement your describe is normal. Your headset is fine.

You can get a good wheelset built for $400. There's no reason to take a chance on feebay or c-list for wheels. If you don't believe your LBS can build up a good set of wheels for you (many can't, actually), you have numerous online options with great reputations.

One example that I think would be terrific for your described use would be:

Fr hub: Ultegra 6700 32h

Rr hub: Ultegra 6700 36h

Fr rim: Velocity Dyad 32h

Rr rim: Velocity Dyad 36h

Spokes: Either DT Swiss Competition 2.0-1.8 or Wheelsmith DB14 2.0-1.7

Brass nipples

Pattern: 3x