Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Cars & TransportationCar MakesDodge · 9 years ago

Dodge Dakota 1999 is running a 210 temp.Help?

Okay my 99 Dodge Dakota Sport has been running a 210 temp..I am no mechanic so dont know whats wrong. I changed the thermostat yesterday and it still got up to 210 today. It gets hot mostly when Im on the road and drops a little when Im idling. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Update:

I did flush out the radiator before changing the thermostat and it used to not run at 210, just recently

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Sounds like a coolant flow problem.Back flush the radiator and block.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 9 years ago

A temp of 210, on modern engines is NOT abnormal. With the pressurized cooling systems it takes a lot more to boil the coolant, plus a 50/50 antifreeze-water mixture won't boil art 212 either. Additionally the gauges aren't dead on accurate. That's why most companies forego numbers and just mark them with a C Norm H. If you're really worried about it, I'd say try replacing the temp sending unit first, as they will change with age, and see what that does to the reading.

Source(s): Been repairing and restoring cars for over 50 years.
  • 9 years ago

The thermostat is probably stuck, if running hotter than normal. It could also be restricted exhaust system. Wind it up to 2500 RPM and hold it there for 30 seconds, then pull the throttle wide open. If the motor bogs down or seems slow to pull up on RPM, this indicates a plugged catalytic converter. And a plugged cat will make it run hotter than it should.

• zulma
    Lv 4
    3 years ago