? asked in Consumer ElectronicsCameras · 9 years ago

Canon vs Nikon cameras?

I'm a skilled amateur at photography and I wanted to upgrade my DSLR.

I was looking at mainly Canon vs. Nikon and I was wondering whether it was better to get the...

Canon EOS Rebel T1i Digital SLR Camera with Canon EF-S 18-55mm IS lens

or

Nikon D3100 14.2MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 AF-S DX VR Nikkor Zoom Lens

They're both around 650 dollars but I was wondering about the benefits/tradebacks of these cameras. Thank you.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Best Answer

Canon is a far better camera company. Their cameras are easy to use and have great quality pictures.

Source(s): T1i Rebel owner
  • 9 years ago

I'm a Canon fan but I won't say Canon is better. People say a pic taken by Nikon DSLR has sharper colour while the colour Canon captures is smoother warmer. Personally speaking, I do believe Nikon captures sharper colour but anyway, you can choose the picture style no matter what brands you use.

I got my first Canon DSLR 4 years ago, Reason is most of my friends used Canon at that time so that we can share the lenses and save a lot money. You can choose your camera by looking at your friends'.

Commercially speaking, Nikon's short range lenses are a little bit expensive but Canon's long range lenses, such as the white colour lenses(e.g. 70-200mm F2.8), are much more expensive than Nikon's.

• Anonymous
    9 years ago

I gurantee you that none of the people above me has any idea what they are talking abt, bet doesn't even own a DSLR.

U want to compare these camera models then here's a link of the most respectable review site;

Btw Canon T1i got 74% ratings, D3100 got 72%, now u decide. Look at the pros and cons of both cam.

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canoneos500d/page2...

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond3100/page19....