I am Fifteen with a Part-Time Job - Taxes...?

So I am Fifteen years old, almost 16 (Saving for a car). I decided to get a part-time job at a grocery store. I have worked there for a little over a month, I am paid weekly. I am looking at the paystub that is attached to my check. I loose an average of 14% each paycheck for taxes. The TAXES AND DEDUCTIONS listed are:

FICA-OASDI: $2.72

FEDERAL: $2.44

FICA-HI: $0.94

STATE PA: $1.99

PA UNEMPLOYMENT: $0.05

MANHEIM LA: $0.65

MISC. DEDUCTIONS:

OPT/LST TAX: $1.00

This is out a paycheck that I earned $64.80 before taxes. I make $7.60 an hour. What are all of these different taxes? I thought minors didn't pay taxes? What are taxes exactly and what do I do during "Tax Season"? What is "Tax Season"?

I Know it's a lot, but I am new to the workforce and I'm am confused. Thanks for your time.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

You thought wrong. Minors do pay taxes. They pay all taxes that adults pay, except for the taxes that adults only pay when buying alcoholic beverages or things to smoke (cigarettes, etc.), which minors do not pay because minors are not allowed to buy those things.

FICA-OASDI: $2.72 is federal insurance contributions act-old age, survivors, disability insurance, which is usually called social security

FEDERAL: $2.44 in federal (U.S. national government) income tax

FICA-HI: $0.94 is federal insurance contributions act-health insurance, which is usually called medicare

STATE PA: $1.99 is the main Pennsylvania state income tax for the state government's general fund

PA UNEMPLOYMENT: $0.05 is another Pennsylvania state tax, specifically to pay for unemployment benefits

MANHEIM LA: $0.65 is the local (city or county or town) tax

I am not sure what OPT/LST tax is.

Taxes are money that you must pay the government.