J Ral asked in TravelUnited StatesBoston · 9 years ago

What can I expect in a move to Boston?

I'm currently a college student in TX, but after I recieve my masters degree I plan to move to the Boston area to try to find work in a museum. Here's the catch: I've never lived outside of TX, and have no idea what to expect. Right now I only pay $555 for 660 sq. ft., and my total bills with utilities included only comes to about $900. I've been looking around online to get an idea of what I'm going to have to pay up north, and the average price for a 2 bedroom apartment (my boyfriend and his sister are coming with me) is around $1200-$1500. Is this accurate? Would I be able to find cheaper rates further away from the city? And what is a reasonable guestimate for daily commute into the city if i live further out? Right now I only travel about 15 minutes WITH traffic. I know that's going to change. Thanks for your help!

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Great question. Boston is a very diverse citiy so lets do some pros and cons.

Expect for two bedroom, depending on the citiy:

Actual Boston: $2500 monthly without utilities some included

Brookline: $2000-2500 or more

Waltham: $1300-2500 or more

Watertown: $1400-2500 or more

Newton: $1700-2500 or more

Then you have

Malden: $1200-2000 more or less

Somerville $1000-$2000 more or less

Dedham $1200-$2000 more or less

Mind that you can find cheaper areas too, just research because every town has its good side and its not so good side and some towns just have good expensive side (Lincoln, Newton) and it all depends on how cold and how hot it is, it varies a lot and your bills can go high quickly

Daily commute, in rushour, for example from Newton to Boston (40 min - even 1 hour in or out on rt 9), 95 before 9:30am and after 5:30pm try to avoid completely, but then you have the T ( boston transit is wonderful but closes at 12:30am) less if you are inside Boston but traffic is very much.

Pros: