How hard can I expect it to be in regards to achieving a 3.9-4.0 in college?

Assume I'm going to go to a mid-level university, such as Depaul or Loyola.

I've also been taking honors classes all my life and AP classes throughout high school. I get A's and B's in said classes. How much harder (or easier) can I expect college to be relative to the honors-level curriculum in high school? (I took regular-level math classes in high school, however.)

Also assume I'm going to major in the Humanities, i.e. Sociology or Psychology. I'm also an above-average writer, receiving praise (at least as my writing fully developed) from even the tough English teachers and I can now manage getting almost an A plus with average effort in my honors English classes.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Best Answer

I'm a student at Loyola and achieving a 3.9 is unheard of. I have a 3.3 through three years here and I rarely go out and actually work hard. My roommate is pre-med, doesn't play video games, watch TV, or party on the weekends (spends all of his time studying) and he's got a 3.7 gpa.

My guess is that De Paul will be much easier if you care most about getting a high GPA since Loyola has a lot of really academic students. Remember, the grading curve stays the same at all schools, even if a certain school has a lot of party kids. So if you think you can avoid falling into the social life trap at those types of universities, I would recommend that you find a party school and just crush the GPA curve since you may be taking class with a lot of slackers.

And just a warning, psychology is one of the most popular majors at Loyola. The psychology community was on my floor freshman year and I'd say that about 70% dropped that major when they figured out that a 3.6 gpa is REALLY hard to get. I'm not trying to scare you, I just want you to understand how ridiculously easy high school is going to look once/if you start at LUC.

Source(s): Loyola student. Experience.
  • 9 years ago