Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesVisual ArtsPainting · 9 years ago

It's my first time painting. This is my first painting ever! How does it look?

I would like to get comments from the Professionals. And also those who loves painting. I am 25, female and I just want to know if I am capable of doing this if I pursue a career on painting. Nobody taught me how to paint. I love painting ever since I was a child, like around 7 and I think I got it from my dad. Please leave comments and suggestions will really be very much appreciated.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/62591427@N03/?saved=1

Thanks! :)

Update:

Ok. I will add a different link so you guys can see it. Thanks for the first comment. It's ok. I'm really open about suggestions. Painting is a hobby for me. I just want to know what people think about my work. :)

http://www.flickr.com/photos/62591427@N03/56963995...

Update 2:

Yea, I think I need better brushes too. Thanks!

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

This is GOOD for your FIRST TIME painting! You can do ANY CAREER you want as long as you have the drive, the passion, the commitment, the patience, and the will power! Please note that the art world is a very hard market to get into. It can be done but it may take MANY YEARS to become a well established artist, so have a second career as a backup.

Every subject has been painted over and over. The only way to stand out as unique and the best is to learn GOOD design, composition, and color theory! Arrange your elements in a pleasing composition with a beautiful color scheme. Buy every book you can on color: color theory, mixing colors, history and science of color, color schemes, painting light-filled / luminous / glowing color, etc. Find out what colors are being used the most in decorating homes and business establishments and use those colors in your paintings to attract more buyers. Buy books at Amazon website.

For beginners, buy these books: