What are some good Spanish novels/books to read for a somewhat advanced learner?

I've been learning Spanish for about 9 months, now, and I want to begin reading more difficult books in Spanish. Though 9 months isn't a very long time in learning a language on your own, I know all of the tenses like the back of my hand and I can speak pretty well, too. I've definitely put in the time with learning it and I can see the results.

However, whenever I try to pick up a book in Spanish and try to read it, I find myself constantly stumbling over putting the thoughts together. Sometimes, it's because I've picked up a book that's too advanced for me. Sometimes, it's just the opposite; I feel like I'm reading children's books about colors and shapes. I need to find something more difficult than a children's book but probably on a lot lower level than what a person my age would be reading - I am eighteen.

So, my question is the following:

What are some good Spanish novels or writers/authors you could suggest to me for reading?

Gracias de antemano!

P.S. I tend to gravitate towards stories about magic, fantasy, or people with mental disorders, but I'm definitely not interested in reading something that is science-fiction or strongly-based around actual history.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi there! Well, that's a pretty though one... since I don't read a lot. hahaha I'm from México by the way... Try to read "Don Quijote de la Mancha" by Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra or "Cien Años de Soledad" by Gabriel García Márquez. I guess "Don Quijote (Quixote) is more traditional, so I strongly recommend you to read that one...

Greetings from México...

• Login to reply the answers
  • 3 years ago