165 grain bullet or 230 grain bullet for .45 ACP. self defense round?

I do not know why I have to contemplate this. It's a damn bullet. Nobody can outrun it. Is the speed decrease of the 230 grain to the 165 grain really something to look at in a self defense round?

I am not a handgunner yet as I am only 20, but I am doing my homework and want to get some experienced folks' answers.

15 Answers

Relevance
  • ?
    Lv 6
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Last answer of the night:

You must be looking at one of those hyper velocity Cor-Bon rounds - Correct. I've been shooting for more than 50 years. I once shot on a firing line while standing right next to the Cor-Bon factory rep. Some pistoleros think that the faster they can get a bullet to go, the more energy it's going to dump into the target. I say, 'horsefeathers'.

I'm a pistol instructor, an RSO, and a (former) worthy competitor. What I usually see is a lot of pistol shooters who've done an excellent job of, 'over-gunning' themselves. Never shoot a cartridge whose recoil you cannot easily control and absorb. These ultra-light, high velocity bullets have a very hard sharp recoil to them; they often induce flinching in gunmen who are old enough and experienced enough to know better than to use them.

If a pistol/cartridge combination is too much for you to repeatedly fire accurately and easily then it's not the right combination for you. With the exception of very short (3" or less) 45 ACP barrels I always use 230 grain bullets - Often hardball, too. 230 grain 45 ACP pistol bullets got American fighting men through two world wars, and several major conflicts. With the (possible) exception of the people who got shot, nobody ever complained!

The reason I like high quality hardball is because it'll punch right through heavy Winter clothing without stopping like a JHP round will. The usual flap revolves around the over-hyped idea of, 'excessive penetration'.