Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Yahoo ProductsYahoo MailAbuse and Spam · 9 years ago

Does this sound like a scam?

So, being that I just had to buy a new car, I decided to pick up tutoring to make some extra money. I'm a journalism graduate, so I figured I'd put a posting on craigslist to advertise my services. I got an e-mail from this person saying he needs a tutor from his son (I have posted the e-mail transcript below) but the fact that he's from overseas and the way he wants to pay me sounds really wierd and I'm pretty wary about it now. It's a little lengthy, but will you please read this and give me your thoughts? I've been a victim of identity theft before so I'm pretty paranoid so I'm thinking of just telling him the deal's off just to be safe. Let me know if you think this sounds like total BS.

His first e-mail:

Hello,

I hope you are doing fine today..Can you pls let me know if you are able to give lessons my son and how much it will cost for a minimum time of 3hrs per week.

Pls get back to me asap so as to proceed with the arrangement.

Thanks

Timothy

My response:

Hi Timothy,

How old is your son and what does he need help on in particular? I typically charge $20 per hour for tutoring but I am willing to negotiate.

Thanks,

Rebecca

His second e-mail:

Hi ,

Thanks for getting back to me and for your commitment..Just to introduce myself to you...I am Timothy Yalamanchili and am a Mechanical Engineer...I was born and raised in Brooklyn,New York but am currently based in Northampton,United Kingdom with my wife and children.

My Son will be coming for an holiday in the States,and i want him to be busy with his studies..Therefore, i just want to know if he can always come to you and teach him English ( Grammar and Essay writing ) every afternoon..If this is possible,i will want you to get back to me with the cost of your teaching him for a month which can start as soon as he arrives...