Investment Banking question? Anybody out their a ibanker, or broker?

I am currently a student at the University of Wisconsin-Madison where I'm pursuing BA in Economics and taking some finance courses. My career goal is to become an investment banker, or broker. After college I want to pursue a career more in Finance and Banking. But recently I have been considering transferring to the University of Central Florida where I would pursue a BBA in Finance. Right now I am only looking at getting a bachelors degree and not pursue a MBA or any advanced degree afterwards.

So my question is

1) will pursuing a degree in Economics at Madison prevent me from entering the finance and banking industry after college?

2) Would it be better to stay and graduate from a more well know school like University of Wisconsin-Madison as opposed to going to University of Central Florida.

3) Or would it be better to go to the University of Central Florida and Major in Finance.

Any thought are much appreciated. Thank You

2 Answers

Relevance
  • M
    Lv 6
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I will answer your questions at the end:

Becoming a stock broker is very easy to do. A college education is not required. All you need to do is pass the standardized licensing exam (series 7) and you are good to go!

In order to be able to take the series 7 however, you must have a firm that will sponsor you (a firm that plans to hire you). You can start your own firm and sponsor yourself, but this is expensive and difficult to do. Go to local career fairs, visit different financial services firms in your area, and get to know what is out there. Most firms are more than happy to sponsor a new broker who can help generate revenues for the firm. Bear in mind that while you have unlimited income potential, stock brokers are paid commissions and are rarely given a base salary.